Connect with us:
Follow The Coastal Society on Twitter   Find The Coastal Society on Facebook   Find The Coastal Society on Instagram
Photo: Tom Bigford

Duke University Chapter of The Coastal Society

Mission

The Coastal Society is an organization of private sector, academic, government professionals and students dedicated to actively addressing emerging coastal issues by fostering dialogue, forging partnerships, and promoting communication and education. The Duke University Student Chapter of The Coastal Society is committed to furthering the mission of The Coastal Society (TCS) and is run entirely by students at Duke University. The Duke Chapter seeks to fulfill this mission of stewardship of the local coastal ecosystem through education, restoration and fundraising for charity.

History

Typical projects and events include various professional development conferences and workshops, oyster habitat restoration in partnership with the North Carolina Coastal Federation, Blue Drink networking events, environmental movie screenings, sponsoring speakers, and more. The signature event of the Duke Chapter is the annual Beach Clean-up in the Beaufort/Morehead City area where community members and other student organizations work together to pick up trash and marine debris from local beaches.

Officers

President: Anna Windle (anna.windle@duke.edu)
Secretary: Sarah Poulin (sarah.poulin@duke.edu)
Treasurer: Amber Halstead (amber.halstead@duke.edu)
Beaufort Representative: Alaina Young (alaina.young@duke.edu)
Durham Representative: Sydney Fishman (sydney.fishman@duke.edu)

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Grant Murray(grant.murray@duke.edu)

News and Events

Check out our Facebook page here